Skip to main content

Education in Chambers County, Alabama

Chambers County is home to both public and private elementary, middle, and high schools. The area has two public school systems, two private schools, a state-of-the-art career technical center, and several higher education institutions in and around the county. Sixty-six percent of our certified personnel hold a master’s or higher academic degree and our teachers meet Alabama’s highly qualified standard for requirements of “No Child Left Behind.” Schools in Chambers County also offer career tech programs that are certified to current business and industry standards and are among the best in the state.

Primary & Secondary Schools

Chambers County Schools

The Chambers County School System serves approximately 3,700 students in grades pre-K through 12. There are eleven schools in the Valley and LaFayette areas, including six elementary, two middle schools, two high schools, and Inspire Academy, a career technical center for grades 8-12. All are accredited by AdvancED (formerly known as SACS) and all of the Career Tech programs are business and industry certified.

Lanett City Schools

The Lanett City School District includes three schools within the City of Lanett serving just under 1,000 students. Lanett schools are focusing on learning through a balance of academic programs such as STEM labs and extracurricular activities including JROTC and robotics. With recent state championships in football, basketball, and track and field, Lanett has received statewide recognition for the success of their athletic programs.

Springwood School

Springwood School in Lanett offers instruction for grades K4-12. The school is accredited by AdvancedED (formerly SACS) and is a member of the National Association of Independent Schools, the Southern Association of Independent Schools, and the Alabama Independent School Association. The school offers a college preparatory curriculum, an honors program, and advanced placement classes.

Chambers Academy

Chambers Academy in LaFayette serves preschool through 12th grade. The school meets Alabama Independent School Association certification requirements and is accredited by AdvancedED (formerly SACS). Chambers Academy’s goals are academic excellence and the social growth and development of its students.

Post Secondary Schools

Auburn University

Within thirteen schools and colleges, Auburn University has nationally ranked programs, including architecture, pharmacy, veterinary science, engineering, forestry, interior design, and business. AU has been listed as one of the top 50 public universities for more than 20 consecutive years, and was ranked the 48th public university in the nation in the 2015 edition of U.S. News and World Report. Auburn prides itself in putting the students first.

Southern Union State Community College

Southern Union State Community College, a two-year college with an academic campus in Valley and a technical and academic campus in Opelika, is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools to award the Associate in Arts, Associate in Science, Associate in Applied Science and Associate in Occupational Technologies Degree. Technical certificates are also available.

SUSCC, at their Valley campus, launched the first state accredited Industrial Machine System Technician Apprenticeship Program. This program is a six term curriculum providing knowledge and skill desired by manufacturing companies today. Students who complete this program will acquire a number of certificates, accreditations, and skills much needed in today’s thriving workforce.

Point University

Founded in 1937 as Atlanta Christian College, Point University is a private, four-year liberal arts institution preparing students to influence culture for Christ in all spheres of life – through business, church, government, arts and entertainment, education, media and family. The university’s historic campus is located in West Point, Georgia. Point University is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools to award associate and baccalaureate degrees. The following degrees are offered: Associate of Arts, Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Science and Bachelor of Theology (fifth-year undergraduate program). The following areas of study are also offered: Biblical Studies, Biology, Business, Child and Youth Development, Counseling and Human Services, Education, English, History, Humanities, Music and Psychology.